Friendship Over Pages (FOP) Book Club

Join the FOP community and enjoy a good book by participating in our Friendship Over Pages (FOP) Book Club.

Launched in February of 2020 the book club offers caregivers, siblings, spouses, parents and individuals with FOP the opportunity to meet virtually and connect over the discussion of a community-voted book. Virtual meetings are held at the end of the month-long reading window. Participants looking to share more connections with their fellow readers throughout the month can also choose to be included in a group chat that receives a weekly discussion question about that month's book. 

This Months Book Club Selections:

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid - but his new classmates can't get past Auggie's extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie's point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community's struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

The Wonder Book Club Meeting will be held on Friday, May 22 at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11 am MT/10 am PT

The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream: Coelho, Paulo ...

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho 

This story is about an Andalusian shepherd boy named Santiago who travels from his homeland in Spain to the Egyptian desert in search of treasure buried in the Pyramids. Along the way he meets a Gypsy woman, a man who calls himself king, and an Alchemist, all of whom point Santiago in the direction of his quest. No one knows what the treasure is, or if Santiago will be able to surmount the obstacles along the way But what starts out as a journey to find worldly goods turns into a meditation on the treasures found within.

The Alchemist Book Club Meeting will be held on Friday, May 22 at 12 pm ET/11 am CT/10 am MT/9 am PT

Join Our Club!

Are you interested in joining the book club and participating in your next virtual meeting? Email Family Services Manager, Hope Newport at hope.newport@ifopa.org.

Make a Difference

Donate Connect Fundraise

Already a Member? Sign In

Sign Up for FOP Connection, Our Monthly eNewsletter